Break-Even Point for SaaS Business

Break-Even Point for SaaS Business – 2024 Guide & Calculator

Break-Even Point for SaaS Business

MRR, customers, and CAC payback calculations made simple

SaaS Break-Even MRR Formula

Basic MRR Break-Even

Break-Even MRR = Monthly Fixed Costs ÷ Gross Margin %

Where Gross Margin % = (MRR − Variable Costs) ÷ MRR

With Churn

Break-Even MRR = Monthly Fixed Costs ÷ (1 − Variable Cost % − Churn %)

Break-Even Customers

Formula

Break-Even Customers = Monthly Fixed Costs ÷ (ARPU − Variable Cost per Customer)

Definitions

  • ARPU = Average Revenue Per User (monthly)
  • Variable Cost = hosting, support, payment fees

CAC Payback Break-Even

Formula

CAC Payback Months = CAC ÷ (ARPU − Variable Cost)

Rule of Thumb

Payback < 12 months for healthy SaaS.

Real SaaS Break-Even Examples

1. Starter SaaS

Fixed: $5,000/mo
ARPU: $29
Variable: $4
CAC: $87

MRR = 5,000 ÷ (29 − 4)/29 ≈ $5,814
Customers = 5,814 ÷ 29 ≈ 201
CAC Payback = 87 ÷ 25 ≈ 3.5 months

2. Mid-Market SaaS

Fixed: $25,000/mo
ARPU: $199
Variable: $19
CAC: $1,200

MRR = 25,000 ÷ (199 − 19)/199 ≈ $27,778
Customers = 27,778 ÷ 199 ≈ 140
CAC Payback = 1,200 ÷ 180 ≈ 6.7 months

3. Enterprise SaaS

Fixed: $80,000/mo
ARPU: $1,200
Variable: $100
CAC: $8,000

MRR = 80,000 ÷ (1,200 − 100)/1,200 ≈ $87,273
Customers = 87,273 ÷ 1,200 ≈ 73
CAC Payback = 8,000 ÷ 1,100 ≈ 7.3 months

SaaS Break-Even Calculator

Break-Even MRR: $

Break-Even Customers:

Download the SaaS Break-Even Template

Excel & Google Sheets workbook with MRR, customer, and CAC payback tabs.

Download CSV Template

Leave a Comment